Subscribe for Special Offers
Go to cart (0) items [£0.00]
Back to shop

Ágætis byrjun - A Good Beginning (20th Anniversary Edition) 2LP Click for larger image

Ágætis byrjun - A Good Beginning (20th Anniversary Edition) 2LP

Sigur Rós
Ágætis byrjun - A Good Beginning (20th Anniversary Edition) 2LP

Availability: Sold Out


Price as configured: £24.99

* Required Fields


In 1999 the band released Ágætis Byrjun (‘A Good Start’), Q magazine deemed Ágætis Byrjun ‘the last great record of the 20th century’. By the end of the year, it had won the inaugural US Shortlist Prize for Artistic Achievement in Music. This year celebrates the 20th Anniversary of Ágætis Byrjun.

PRODUCT SPEC: Standard 2LP. 12” heavyweight vinyl as released June 12th 1999+ download code of Demos and Rarities + Live Íslenska Óperan 1999


DOWNLOAD INSERT OVERVIEW: The band expand their breakthrough album with demo and archive versions of all songs on the album, plus never-before-heard newly unearthed material from the time, rare b-sides and the full 90 minute concert played in Reykjavík on the day the record was released in 1999.

Vinyl breakdown below:

TRACKLISTING | Original Album | Vinyl


1. Intro

2. Svefn-g-englar

3. Starálfur


4. Flugufrelsarinn

5. Ný batterí


6. Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm)

7. Viðrar vel til loftárása


8. Olsen olsen

9. Ágaetis byrjun

10. Avalon

TRACKLISTING | Demos & Rarities (on digital download insert)

1. Svefn-g-englar (Live at Popp í Reykjavík, 1998)

2. Starálfur (Original speed version)

3. Flugufrelsarinn (1998 Demo)

4. Ný Batteri (Instrumental)

5. Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm) (1995 Demo)

6. Viðrar vel til loftárása (Alternative ending)

7. Olsen Olsen (1998 Demo)

8. Ágaetis byrjun (1998 Demo)

9. Hugmynd 1             (Demo)

10. Hugmynd 2 (Demo)

11. Hugmynd 3 (Demo)

12. Debata mandire (Live at Laugardashöll, 1999)

13. Rafmagnið búið (From Ný batterí EP, 2000)


TRACKLISTING | Live at Íslenska Óperan (on digital download insert)

1. Intro (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

2. Von (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

3. Syndir guðs (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

4. Flugufrelsarinn (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

5. Olsen Olsen (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

6. Ágaetis byrjun (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

7. Viðrar vel til loftárása (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

8. Svefn-g-englar (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

9. Ný batterí (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

10. Nýja lagið (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

11. Hafsól - (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)